| In perhaps the most dramatic 
                    finish in Bermuda Bowl history, USA I gained 12 IMPs on the 
                    last board of the event to emerge with an amazing 204-303 
                    victory over Italy.  The issue was not settled, however, until 
                    an appeals committee had rendered a ruling on a disputed ending 
                    to the final board. In the closed room, Eric Rodwell and Jeff 
                    Meckstroth had gone plus 400 against 4© by Italy’s Norberto 
                    Bocchi and Giorgio Duboin.  In the open room, Paul Soloway had doubled 
                    Lorenzo Lauria in 5¨. If Lauria could get out for down one 
                    – minus 100 – it would be an 11-IMP gain and the 
                    match would be tied.  As play wound down, Lauria had already 
                    lost two tricks and still had the trump ace out against him 
                    – plus the losing ©9 in his hand. With a singleton spade 
                    in his hand, Lauria had played the king from dummy’s 
                    holding of ªK Q to five. Soloway could have cashed the ©10 
                    to guarantee two down, but he played back a spade instead.  Lauria’s partner had left the table 
                    after putting down the dummy, so Lauria was playing the cards 
                    himself. Lauria apparently expected Soloway to cash his winning 
                    heart, so he pulled the ª7 from dummy – which held only 
                    clubs and spades – realizing too late that a spade had 
                    been played. He tried to change his play to the queen, which 
                    would have allowed him to discard the losing heart and get 
                    out for minus 100. Hamman, who had started with the ªJ 10 
                    doubleton, had played the jack to the first lead of the suit, 
                    and he covered the ª7 with the 10.  A tournament director was called, and 
                    the ruling was that the ª7 was a played card, resulting in 
                    two down for minus 300. That gave the Americans a 12-IMP gain 
                    and a 1-IMP victory.  The Italians appealed the ruling, but 
                    the appeals committee, citing rule 45B from the law book, 
                    backed the director. The rule states that when a card is touched 
                    it is played.  In the World Transnational Open Teams, 
                    the Italian Lavazza squad cruised to a win over Zhuang of 
                    China.
 |