The World Bridge Series takes place in even-numbered years other than leap years, that is, 1990, 1994 and so on.

They consist of a series of championship and subsidiary events which include the World Open, Women's and Senior Pairs, and the World Open, Women's and Senior Teams Championships.

The World Senior Pairs was introduced in 1990, while, in 1994, the first World Women Knockout Teams (for the McConnell Cup) and the first World Senior Knockout Teams were played, run on similar lines to the Rosenblum Cup.

These Championships are now the biggest of all WBF Championships in terms of entries. They began, however, on a modest scale, simply as World Open Pairs and a corresponding Women's event with, in the early years, a Mixed event of one kind or another to round out the program. Today, the program includes team and pairs competitions in all categories (open, women, seniors, mixed).

It should be noted that the World Mixed Teams Championship, contested at the same time as the World Pairs Olympiad in 1962 and 1974, was moved, as from 1996, to the site of the World Team Olympiad.

To select a competition, click on its name below.