Officials with the WBF FlagThe World Bridge Federation was formed on 18th August 1958 in Oslo, Norway, by delegates from Europe, USA and South America and Baron Robert de Nexon, from France, an inspiring figure in bridge, was elected as first President. Charles J. Solomon, from USA (1964-1968) and Count Carl Bonde, from Sweden (1968-1970) succeeded Baron de Nexon as WBF President. With the election of Julius Rosenblum in 1970, the WBF started to assume the mantle of a real World Organisation. Rosenblum strongly believed that bridge needed to have a visible central organisation with a global reach rather than conducting its affairs on a local or continental basis. When in 1976

Rosenblum decided to retire for health reasons, Jaime Ortiz-Patiño from Switzerland, was elected President. Under his guidance the WBF started its new modern era and in August 1977 was incorporated under the Laws of the State of New York as a “not for profit” organisation. The Federation cast off the mantle of a paternalistic organisation and was re-structured as an International Federation devoted to offering its members the best possible service. The stimulation given by Ortiz-Patiño to building the organisational and administrative structure, to developing the discipline and its image, to introducing new rules and a rigid code of ethics is still effective even today. When he left the WBF in 1986 he was elected President Emeritus by acclamation for his exceptional services to bridge.

Denis Howard, from Australia, succeeded him to the Presidency from 1986 to 1990

Re-elected for a second term, Howard resigned in January 1991 following a crisis within the world of bridge. Ernesto d’Orsi, from Brazil, who had distinguished himself as a leading bridge administrator succeeded him in 1991 and 1992 and successfully steered the WBF through this difficult and delicate situation. In August 1992 he left the chair to Robert S. Wolff, from the USA, one of the most successful players in the history of bridge, who successfully completed the task started by d’Orsi and then left the chair in August 1994, when José Damiani, from France, was elected President.

José Damiani completely changed the way forward, both for the WBF and Bridge itself. Under his leadership, following its initial recognition as an International Organisation in 1995 pursuant to Article 29 of the Olympic Charter, the WBF was recognised by the International Olympic Committee as an International Sports Federation in 1999. In October 2000 in Monaco, the World Bridge Federation was admitted as a member of the GAISF (General Association of Internationals Sports Federations - Olympic and non-Olympic) - now SportAccord - at the General Assembly of this Association.

The WBF also became a member of ARISF (Association of Recognised International Sport Federations) and in October 2002 moved its headquarters to Lausanne (Switzerland), the Olympic City, where it is incorporated under Swiss Law. The WBF is one of the founder members of IMSA (Inter- national Mind Sports Association) which was formed on 19 April 2005.

José Damiani left the chair in November 2010 after 16 years of Presidency, having achieved tremendous success in developing bridge, introducing new concepts of communication and information, which attracted media, sponsors and supporters; improving technological systems to manage and run the competitions, creating new events participated in by players of any category and developing youth bridge, opening the door and then constantly supporting and improving the teaching of bridge to school children. When he left, was elected WBF Chairman Emeritus by acclamation for his extraordinary services to bridge and subsequently, following the death of Ortiz-Patiño in 2013, elected President Emeritus.

Gianarrigo Rona, from Italy, former First Vice-President and EBL President (1999-2010) was elected President in São Paulo September 2009 and took the chair in November 2010.

The Disciplinary Code, the Eligibility Code as well as the Tournament Directors Official Register and Rules & Regulations were introduced. The format of the World Bridge Games was modified with the introduction of the National Pairs Championship, following the National Teams Championship, as well as the format of the World Bridge Series with Mixed, Open, Women and Seniors events both in teams and in pairs. In the Youth Championship the new categories of Girls and Kids were added to the already existing Juniors and Youngsters.

The Five Presidents
Veldhoven - October 2011. The five WBF Presidents, Bobby Wolff, Jaime Ortiz-Patiño,
Gianarrigo Rona, Ernesto d’Orsi, José Damiani

Particular attention was we given to the development of youth and school bridge and the consolidation of the Headquarters in Lausanne, employing personnel and accomplishing the requirements to be incorporated in the Swiss Law.

In Nusa Dua, Bali, November 2013, Rona was re-elected unopposed for a second four-year term which will thus run until 2018.

For purposes of administration and furtherance of its objectives and to comply with the International Olympic Committee’s principles of the five IOC rings, the WBF structure is divided into five geographical Continental Conferences identical to the IOC’s five rings. For organisational reasons the WBF established zones within each of the five Continents which, although part of a Continent, shall be entitled to have at least one member on the Executive and berths at the WBF Championships as set forth in Article 9 of the By-Laws. Each zone has its own Zonal Conference of its member NBOs, organising, managing and administering its activity and conducting both its own zonal competitions and those delegated to it by the WBF. The eight Zonal Conferences are: Zone 1 - Europe; Zone 2 - North America; Zone 3 - South America; Zone 4 Asia and the Middle East; Zone 5 - Central America and Caribbean; Zone 6 - Asia Pacific; Zone 7 - South Pacific and Zone 8 - Africa.

The WBF has shown strong and steady growth and its membership now comprises 116 National Bridge Organisations (NBOs) with approximately 1,000,000 affiliated members who participate actively in competitive bridge events (locally, nationally and internationally).

Each National Bridge Organisation agrees to fulfill certain requirements, such as opening its ranks to all its citizens and residents and upholding a standard of ethics acceptable to the WBF.

The WBF Executive Council consists of the President, who acts as Chairman, 17 Members, elected from the eight WBF Zonal Conferences, representatives of the five Continental Conferences and 2 Member representatives from the High Level Players Commission. The President Emeritus and the President of the Congress are non voting members of the Executive Council.

Bridge for Peace